How to Delete Segment Lists From AWeber

You have a few customer email lists that you’ve been growing over the years with AWeber. Now that you’re managing all of those lists you want to remove some of them, right? You could always delete the lists manually one by one, but that can be a lot of effort. Fortunately, there’s a much easier way. You can use the List Switcher module to delete list segments from AWeber.

To help you along, here’s a step-by-step guide on how to use the List Switcher to delete segments from an AWeber list.

Visit the List Switcher Dashboard

You can access the List Switcher from any page on the AWeber dashboard. Simply click the dropdown arrow next to your account name on the main dashboard and select List Switcher. You’ll then be taken to a list of all of your list segments.

You can click the name of any list segment to get more details about it. You’ll notice that there are several columns. The first three columns are self-explanatory; the other columns provide extra information.

Delete Segment Lists Using The List Switcher

In the example below, we’ll walk you through deleting the Engagement Emails list segment. To begin, we’ll click on the List Switcher icon. This will expand the list of segments and allow us to choose which segment we want to delete.

Let’s click on the name of the segment to be sure we’re on the right track. In this case, we’ll click on the name of the Engagement Emails list segment.

Now that we’re on the right track, we can click on the gear icon next to the list segment name to access more options. In this case, we’ll click on the gear icon next to the Engagement Emails list segment.

This will pop up an additional window where we can opt-out of getting future emails or unsubscribe from existing emails. When deleting a segment list, you’ll always need to confirm the opt-out/unsubscribe process in the window that appears.

Let’s click on the trashcan icon next to the segment to delete it. Now our list of segments will display a red X to denote that this segment has been deleted.

As you can see above, after deleting a segment you’ll be returned to the List Switcher where you can click the gear icon to access all of your segment’s settings. In this case, we’ll click on the gear icon for the Engagement Emails segment to reset its password and other options.

Once you’ve deleted a segment, you cannot restore it. However, you can use the List Switcher to add it back if you want to add another segment with the same name.

To add back a segment that you’ve already deleted, simply click on the List Switcher icon again and this time select the Add option. You’ll see a window similar to the one below. Enter a name for the segment (this will automatically be created for you) and then click on the green + button to add it.

Below, you’ll see a confirmation window that your segment has been added back. You can click on the gear icon to access the settings for this segment.

Use The List Switcher To Check/Uncheck The All List Checkbox

The checkbox at the top of the page allows you to select whether you want to receive emails from all of your segments (checked) or only the segments you subscribe to (unchecked). When you delete a segment, you’ll see a checkmark next to its name in the List Switcher.

To change this setting for all of your segments at once, simply click on the checkbox at the top of the page.

This will toggle between having the checkmark and the words All List checked (or unchecked).

Add, Change, Or Delete The Contact Info For Individual Lists

The email addresses, phone numbers, and website forms for individual lists are stored in a database that can be managed through the List Switcher. To add, change, or delete contact information for an individual list, click on the name of the list in the List Switcher. This will open the contact form for the list. If the contact form for a list does not appear on the page, you can click on the gear icon to open the settings for that form.

You can click on the Edit button next to an individual email address, phone number, or website to make changes. When you’re finished, just click on the Save button.

To add another email address, phone number, or website to the list, click on the Add button. If you want to remove an email address, phone number, or website from the list, simply click on the trashcan icon next to it.

Keep A Backup Of Your Database Locally

If you make frequent backups of your databases, you can restore them quickly if anything happens. This way, you’ll always have access to your email addresses and other contact information. To make a backup of your database (or all of your AWeber databases), click on the gear icon on the List Switcher and select Backup database. A window will appear with a download option.

This will launch a download dialog box. Simply click on the Download button to begin the process. A zip file containing your backup will be downloaded to your computer.

You can unzip the file and then import the backup into your AWeber account. In addition to restoring your contact information from backups, you can use the List Switcher to add, change, or delete lists and segments as needed.

Scroll to Top