I have an account with AWeber, which is one of the most popular email marketing platforms out there. It’s extremely versatile and has a ton of features. One of the problems I’ve had with AWeber is that even though it’s a fairly new company, it has a very high cancellation rate. Most people who sign up don’t use it, and when they find out that it’s not a free service, they quickly cancel their accounts. Since I use the service almost every day, I’ve been frustrated by this high cancellation rate, so I decided to look into how to cancel my account with AWeber. I’m going to walk you through the process, step by step, so you can do it yourself if you ever find yourself in the same situation.
How To Cancel Your AWeber Account
In order to cancel your AWeber account, you will need to log into your account, go to Settings, and then select the Help link. You can then click the link at the bottom of the page that says My Billing Preferences. This will bring you to a screen that looks like this:
As you can see in the image above, I have three different types of payment preferences. The first one is set to auto-bill, the second one is set to pay later, and the last one is set to pay by check. You don’t have to have all three types of preferences set, but you can if you want to be sure that your payment is processed the way you want it to be processed. For my own personal account, I only have the two first types of preferences (autobill and pay later) set because I don’t want to think about paying by check. It’s a pain in the ass to have to go through the process of paying by check whenever I make a purchase, so I use the automatic bill and pay later options whenever possible.
Above the two radio buttons at the top, you’ll see the headline Hide Subscriptions. This is a checkbox. If you click this checkbox, you can hide all the email subscriptions that come with your account. If you don’t want to hide your email subscriptions, then you can uncheck the box and they’ll still show up. This is a convenient way to keep track of your subscriptions without having to look through them all the time.
Now, let’s talk about how to cancel your account. On the main AWeber page, you’ll see a big orange button with an arrow pointing down at the bottom of the page. This is where you come back to, whenever you want to cancel your account. Just beneath this button, you’ll see a gray area with the word CANCEL in it. Just below the word CANCEL, you’ll see another button with the word DELETE at the top. Just continue scrolling down and you’ll see that this button is actually a little bit bigger than the word CANCEL.
When you see this button, click on it to continue to the next section. You’ll then be brought to this screen:
As you can see in the image above, AWeber gives you the option to either cancel your account entirely or to deactivate it. If you decide that you no longer want to be a part of the service, then you can select the Deactivate option. You won’t be able to use the services until you’ve been emailed by someone from AWeber, and then they’ll need to manually activate your account (which is extremely rare). If you want to cancel your account and delete all your data, then you can check the box next to Delete My Account. This will immediately terminate your account and remove all of your data. So be careful before checking this box.
Why Do I Have To Be E-mailed In Order To Cancel My AWeber Account?
You have to be e-mailed in order to cancel your account. This means that you’ll have to go through a tedious process of filling out paperwork and/or verifying your identity via e-mail. The reason AWeber requires this is so that they can comply with various data privacy regulations that are now in effect. If they didn’t require this process, then they’d have to completely shut down their operation and re-launch it under a different name. So, be careful when you enter your email address here, as you’ll be verifying it via e-mail. Make sure that you’re entering the correct email address or you may end up in a bit of a pickle. If you’re not sure what address to use, then you can always use a free service like Google Apps to create a new email account. Just remember that if you use a free service like Google Apps, then you’ll need to keep paying for the service even if you don’t use it. So be careful here.
What Happens After I Cancel My AWeber Account?
After you’ve canceled your account, you won’t be able to access or use any of the services from AWeber. This means that you’ll have to re-subscribe to the service if you want to continue receiving email messages from them. However, they will not be able to delete any of your emails or data that was previously submitted to the server. This is why you have to be careful when you click on the CANCEL option. Once you click on this button, you’ll have 30 days to cancel your account. If you choose to cancel, then all of your data will be deleted and you’ll have to re-subscribe to the service. If you decide not to cancel after all and wish to continue using the service, then you’ll have to verify your identity via e-mail in order to re-subscribe. If you don’t want to do this, then you can deactivate your account instead. In this case, you won’t be able to use the service until you’re verified again. This is why you have to be careful in this section too.
What Should I Do With My AWeber Account Before I Cancel It?
Even though you won’t be able to use the services from AWeber after you cancel your account, you can still do a lot of cool stuff with it before you decide to cancel. Here are some ideas:
- Set up autoresponders.
- Set up content restrictions.
- Set up single-opt-in forms.
- Set up delivery confirmation emails.
- Start a blog.
- Set up affiliate programs.
- Start a Facebook business page.
- Start a Twitter account.
- Start a YouTube account.
- Set up Google Alerts.
- and much more
As you can see, AWeber has a lot of features that can help you automate and streamline your email marketing work. Not only that, but you can also use it to grow your business. So if you haven’t tried it yet, then I highly suggest that you do. With AWeber, it’s very easy to set up and use.
To get started, visit this special link and enter your email address. After that, you’ll be brought to a screen that looks like this:
As you can see in the image above, this is the standard AWeber sign-up page. Just below the grey area that says Enter your email address, you’ll see the option to create a new account or to continue with the existing one. If you click on the Create new account option, then you’ll be brought to this screen:
Here you can select either the free or the paid version of the service. The difference between the two is that with the paid version, you get all the features plus you can add more users. If you decide to continue with the existing account, then just click on the Continue button below the account selection area. You’ll then be brought back to this screen:
Now that you’re back on the main AWeber page, you’ll see a small orange box with an envelope icon in it. Just above this box, you’ll see the headline My Account. If you click on this box, then you’ll be able to see all of your accounts and the option to merge them. So let’s say, for example, that you have an account with Shopify and a Weebly account. If you decide to merge the two accounts, then you’ll have all the email marketing tools and features from Weebly, plus you’ll be able to take advantage of the Shopify’s infrastructure. To do this, click on the Account Settings link at the top of the page, then click on the button that says Merge Accounts.